CSU Education Deans' Statement

CSU Education Deans' Statement in Support of
Culturally Sustaining, Equity Driven, and Justice Focused Pedagogies

As Leaders of College and Schools of Education in the California State University System (CSU), we are directly opposed to any theory, practice, or action that interferes with the educational process. Our goal is to ensure that we prepare educators who can uplift, inspire, and engage students, all students. We will continue to provide educators with the tools that will allow them to embed student culture and lived experiences, including language, race, and ethnicity into the curriculum so that each educator can engage each student. We are educators and that is our job.

It is our responsibility to prepare educators to value and educate all children. To do so, future educators must recognize children's individual strengths and needs, the community cultural wealth they bring with them to the classroom, and the systemic challenges and opportunities that impact their experiences in TK12 schools. This requires that future educators grapple with the realities of structural racism in our society. We stand with our faculty, students, and alumni who engage culturally sustaining, equity-driven, and justice-focused pedagogical practices in order to improve learning opportunities for all students.

Signed by:

Aimee Nelson, Director, Center for Careers in Teaching, Fullerton
Angela Trethewey, Dean, CSU Chico
Brian Sevier, Dean, CSU Channel Islands
Cathi Draper Rodriguez, Dean, CSU Monterey Bay
Cheryl Ney, Dean, Charter College of Education, CSU Los Angeles
Chinaka DomNwachukwu, Dean, CSU San Bernardino
Cynthia Grutzik, Dean, Graduate College of Education, San Francisco State University
Deborah Summers, Associate Dean, Chico State
Deedee Perez-Granados, Associate Dean, School of Social Sciences and Education, CSU Bakersfield
Edward Jadallah, Dean, College of Education, California State University Monterey Bay
Ernest Black, Systemwide Director, CalStateTEACH
Fred Uy, Director, CSU Office of the Chancellor
Heather Lattimer, Dean, San José State University
Hend Gilli-Elewy, Interim Dean, Cal Poly Pomona
James L. Rodríguez, Dean, CSU Bakersfield
Jann Pataray-Ching, Chair, Cal Poly Pomona
Jenelle S. Pitt Parker, Associate Dean, Kremen School of Education and Human Development, CSU Fresno
Jennifer Ostergren, Dean, CSU San Marcos
Jessica Zacher Pandya, Dean, CSU Dominguez Hills
Joanne M. Van Boxtel, Interim Associate Dean, Cal Poly Pomona
Kathy Howard, Associate Dean and Director of Clinical Experiences and Partnerships, CSU Channel Islands
Kevin Taylor, Director, School of Education, Cal Poly San Luis Obispo
Kim Case, Associate Dean, Fullerton
Laura Alamillo, Dean, Sonoma State University
Laura Portnoi, Associate Dean, CSU Long Beach
Laurie Stowell, Director of the School of Education, Cal State San Marcos
Lisa Hutton, Interim Associate Dean, CSU Dominguez Hills
Lisa Kirtman, Dean, CSU Fullerton
Marcos Pizarro, Associate Dean, San José State University
Oddmund Myhre, Dean, CSU Stanislaus
Pia Wong, Dean, Sacramento State
Randy Yerrick, Dean, Fresno State
Rebecca Bustamante, Associate Dean, CSU-Long Beach
Rebecca Justeson, Director, School of Education, CSU Chico
Rebecca M. Bustamante, Associate Dean, CSULB
Robert Williams, Dean, CSU East Bay
Sasha Sidorkin, Dean, Sacramento State
Shari Tarver Behring, Dean, CSU Northridge
Shireen Pavri, Dean, CSU Long Beach
Stacie Robertson, Interim Associate Dean, CSU San Bernardino
Y. Barry Chung, Dean, College of Education, San Diego State University